DSC_0845.JPG

I will give you a wise and discerning heart, so that there will never have been anyone like you, nor will there ever be.

1 Kings 3: 12

It’s been a busy few weeks.  As I prepare to leave the US and move back home to England, the list of things to do before I board that plane grows ever longer.  It seems each time I complete a task, another five appear!  But in all the things that need to be done, I am trying to make sure I also remember the things I want to do.

My parents arrived on Monday to stay with me and enjoy a road trip before I leave the States.  We’ve been exploring the local area and I’ve loved taking them to my favorite places here.  One of those places is the North Carolina Museum of Art.  It’s a perfect place for a walk in the sunshine, a cool stroll through the gallery, and a nice drink or bite to eat in the fresh, airy cafe.  Even though there were storms raging this afternoon, our walk through the various art rooms was absolutely peaceful.

You’ve probably guessed that I love art.  I love color and shape and pattern and beauty.  But what I love most about art is that everyone sees it differently.  Art is all about perspective.  What one person sees when they look at an installation or framed portrait, is not necessarily what the next person sees.  One piece can mean so many different things to each person who sees it.  Today, one piece of modern art was, to my mum, a headache!  But to me it was crisp and striking and bold.  We see through different eyes.  It’s not what you see, but how you see it.

DSC_0847.JPG

Art is, for me, one of the biggest arguments for our God’s existence.  If we were mere accidents, there would be no need or cause for beautiful art.  It doesn’t serve any real purpose in the survival of a species, but it certainly makes our lives richer.  You know how the saying goes:  without art the earth would just be ‘eh’!

God gave us eyes to see His creation.  He gave us discerning minds and hearts so that we can make judgments and be moved by the things we see.  He gave us hearts to appreciate beauty.  And there is beauty, if we are willing to see it.  If we are looking through discerning hearts, with God-perspective.  Not just in the art gallery, but everywhere.

DSC_0843DSC_0839

