DSC_1477.JPG

Some days it’s hard to count your blessings.  And some days your heart is so full that you can’t help but count your blessings and simply say,

‘Thank you, Lord’.  

It’s easy to linger on the things you aren’t.  I know I’m as guilty as anyone else for doing this, for thinking too often: I’m not pretty like her.  I’m not smart like her.  I don’t know the Bible as well as he does…  Or to think on the things I don’t have.  I don’t have the same musical talent as they do.  I don’t have my career sorted out.  I haven’t found my someone God has put on earth for me (or, who knows, maybe I have and I’m just waiting for them to get the hint 😉 )

Today was a special event at my church.  It was an event I had been involved in planning, and one that was the result of a lot of time, and prayer, and love.  Last night, it would have been easy to think on the things we didn’t have sorted or the things that were going wrong.  Like the fact that we hadn’t finished the projector slides yet, or the fact that I was singing a song I hadn’t sang even once, let alone practiced with musicians.  Then there was the worry when the projector pulled a wobbly and the words still visible on the screen were at a forty-five degree angle that left you with neck ache when you tried to read them.  Oh, and then the fact that I was supposed to be delivering the message but twelve hours before kick-off still hadn’t written a word…

But today?  Today all I can do is count my blessings and be thankful.  Today, it doesn’t matter that not as many people came as we would have liked.  Today, it doesn’t matter that I wore the wrong dress for the radio mic and had to hold it awkwardly in my hand while I spoke.

Today, my heart is so full that my gratitude and love is overflowing in happy tears.

DSC_1463DSC_1478


When you make friends with someone, it’s usually thanks to some common love or interest.  I have friends who are my friends because they love books as much as I do, or because they are writers like I am, or teachers too.  Family is a little different.  Family may not share the same interests, is sometimes brought together only by blood or name.  Church family sits beautifully in the middle; bonds formed between people of different interests who share in the same love of Jesus.  I don’t know about you, but my church family are the most important people in my life, the people who know me best and who I turn to first.

I have always been blessed with wonderful church family.  But in recent years that blessing has grown.  Our church is a multi-cultural and exciting place, and several years ago we welcomed a community of believers who originally came from Nepal and Bhutan and who worship together in Nepali.  Now, years later, Saturdays are my favourite day of the week because of the Nepali worship I am blessed to enjoy.  When life took me across the ocean, it was them I missed the most (just don’t tell my other friends that!)

Today we joined together, English and Nepali, two languages but one family.  We sang together, we prayed together, we listened to God’s Word together.  Some words I understood, others I didn’t.  But one thing I knew, from start to finish was this:

How blessed I am to call these people I do church with my family

DSC_1462.JPG

At church, we learn together.  We try together. We make mistakes together.  We succeed together and fail together, we get things right and we get things wrong together.  We hurt together and celebrate together.  But all the while, we love together.  Today, I may be a little biased, but I know that we love each other well, all because we praise a God who loves best of all.  We take our cue from Him, and when we do that we are infinitely blessed.

To me, there was something extra special about today’s event.  The food was great, but that wasn’t what made it.  The worship was passionate, but that wasn’t it either.  It wasn’t even the dancing, wonderful as that was.  What made today so special was the family I shared it with, the family who speaks different languages but loves the same.

Today, I can’t help but think how blessed I am.

DSC_1464.JPG

